Battle of the Volumizers

I should let you know I’m typically a non-picky person when it comes to hair products. But I am always desperate for Texas style hair: “the higher the hair, the closer to God”…right? I decided I that the volume boosting products I had at home needed a head-to-head battle. 

The Challengers

The three products I had at home were the Not Your Mother’s Plump for Joy Thickening Hair Lifter ($6), Aveda’s Thickening Tonic ($30…but I’m like 90% sure I didn’t pay that much 😳), and Pureology’s Instant Levitation Mist ($26).

The challenge

Since volumizing products need heat in order to be activated, I dried my hair the exact same way for all three products (upside-down, with no rhyme or reason for styling, no brush allowed) and added a control test to see how high my hair could get without any product. I waited a few hours before taking the pictures so gravity could do its damage.

I’ll give you a moment to guess which product produced what results.

Results

While I get better results from the NYM’s Plump for Joy when I’m doing more of a messy wavy style, it didn’t do much in terms of volume at my roots. Not sure what you think, but I’m thinking Aveda takes the cake here. UGH! I was really hoping that it would be the cheaper brands that surprised me 😑

Do you have any products that really make a difference? I’m on the hunt for something that will help me against gravity!

Leave a comment