French Onion Soup- Vegetarian Style

I realize that having a soup post is totally out of season, but French Onion Soup is my favorite! I think it was the melty cheese on top that did me in. It’s definitely one many meals I miss about eating meat, which was why I knew I had to create a vegetarian-friendly version.

I tried filming the process and learned many things not to do when making French Onion soup…it was a little disastrous. I figured that’s life- sometimes it works out great the first time around and sometimes you just have to roll with the punches and try something new. A recipe that imitated life imitating art? Wow.


Vegetarian French Onion Soup

  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 5 onions, chopped lengthwise
  • 2 Tbsp Herbes de Provence
  • 1 cup red wine (you can use white, or skip altogether. I just wanted to add the color)
  • 6 cups vegetable stock (or water if you’re on a budget like me)
  • 8 oz smoked gruyere, sliced
  • 1/2 loaf crusty bread, sliced
  • salt & pepper, to taste

In a large pot, heat the oil and butter over medium heat. Once butter has melted, add a layer of onions and some salt, alternating a layer of onions and salt until all the onions are in the pot. Top with the herbs and sweat the onions uncovered until translucent and almost caramel-colored. This will take a lot of time! Stir the onions about every 20 minutes and keep half an eye on them so they don’t stick to the pot (you may need to lower the heat) *I covered my pot, which I shouldn’t have. It trapped moisture in and didn’t allow the onions to truly caramelize. If you notice your onions are starting to dry up you can either add some more oil to the pan or partly cover the pot with the lid.

Add the red wine to deglaze the pot (scraping up any brown bits at the bottom) and add the vegetable stock (or water). At this point your soup is pretty much done, you’re just warming up the liquids and letting them meet and greet the onions, make friends, get all warm and cozy together…meantime, turn your oven’s broiler on. Lay out all the slices of bread on a sheet pan and top with the cheese. When you put these in the oven DEFINITELY KEEP AN EYE ON THEM! You just want to melt the cheese and get the bread a little toasty.

Once the bread is done you can ladle some soup into a bowl and top with a cheesy bread.


TAKE IT TO THE NEXT LEVEL…

  • Next time I make this I think I’ll start by cooking some mushrooms in the pot before the onions go in. I’m not a fan of a mushroom’s texture, but I do love the flavor they give food so I may fish them out when I make my serving.
  • I also plan on cutting the bread into more of a crouton style. I’ll still toast them in the oven, but without the cheese because…
  • When I plate them I’ll use something more ramekin-shaped (think a deep creme brulee cup) I’ll put the homemade croutons in first, then ladle some soup and then top with cheese so it seals my soup in. Then I’ll stick the bowl into the oven set to broil for just a minute, so the cheese can melt!

I liked how this turned out and am excited to try my next-level version once the weather starts to cool down again. For now, I need me some sunshine!

One thought on “French Onion Soup- Vegetarian Style

Leave a comment